Valdosta Hit and Run Accident Attorneys
Let Studstill Firm, LLP Get You Compensation
Hit and run accidents are an increasing problem. A report from the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety found about 11% of all crashes reported to the police involve a hit and run driver.
Also, 1 out of every 5 pedestrian fatalities involves hit and run drivers. Studstill Firm, LLP has the experience you need in your hit and run case.
There may be times where the driver didn’t notice they had hit something but most of the time the hit and run drivers are too afraid of the repercussions to stop and care for the injured person. Failing to stop and render aid turns the accident into a deliberate crime.
If you’ve been injured by an irresponsible driver who never stopped to give their information, call (229) 515-8900 to talk to our team at Studstill Firm, LLP for a free consultation. Let us see what we can do for you.
Georgia Hit and Run Laws
Penalties for a hit and run will vary, but can can include jail time, fines, and license suspensions according to hit and run laws in Georgia.
When Is a Hit and Run a Felony and When is it a Misdemeanor?
When is a hit and run a felony in Georgia? If a Georgia hit and run accident results in death or serious injury, a conviction could result in a felony charge punishable by imprisonment for no less than one and no more than five years.
If the hit and run accident results in a non-serious injury or property damage, a conviction could result in a misdemeanor. According to Georgia hit and run laws, the punishment for misdemeanor hit and run intensifies for repeat offenders:
- 1st Offense: A conviction will result in a fine no less than $300 and no more than $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to 12 months.
- 2nd Offense: A conviction of a second hit and run offense within five years of the last arrest will result in no less than $600 and no more than $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to 12 months.
- 3rd Offense: A third offense within five years of the last arrest will result in a fine no less than $1,000 and/or imprisonment for up to 12 months
While it may have been easier to get away with such a crime before street cameras and smartphones, now it is much easier for people to hold others accountable for their irresponsibility.
If you or a loved one was seriously injured in a hit and run accident, hold the responsible party accountable for their gross negligence and contact our firm today!
What Must a Driver Do After They are Involved in an Accident?
According to Georgia code, a driver involved in an accident that results in injury or property damage must immediately stop at the scene of the accident and give his or her name, address, and vehicle registration number.
The law also states that upon request and if available, the driver must be able to show his or her operator's license. Additionally, a driver involved in an accident involving injuries is obligated to render aid and transportation if it is required and contact emergency medical services and police if the victim is deceased, unconscious, or incapacitated.
What is a Hit and Run?
A "hit and run" is when a driver fails to fulfill these duties and drives away after being involved in an accident with another driver or pedestrian.
If a person doesn’t stop, not only can they be charged with a criminal offense, but they are also subject to punitive damages in any subsequent civil action suit filed by the victim or the victim’s family.
Why Don’t People Stop After a Hit and Run?
There is no good reason for people to fail to stop after striking another car or individual with their vehicle. However, those who do commit this crime might do so because they have been driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol and don’t want to be arrested and punished for a DUI.
Similarly, it could be that the driver is so far gone under the influence he or she didn’t even notice the accident occurred. In other cases, people might not stop because they are driving without a valid license or do not have car insurance.
Contact Us About your Case Today
Even if you weren’t able to get the license plate of the hit and run driver or any information, you can still seek compensation for injuries and damages by hiring an experienced Valdosta injury lawyer.
Have the police document the accident fully and get the contact information for any and all eyewitnesses as they will be crucial to any claim. It’s almost impossible to identify a hit and run driver at a later point in time, so you must act as quickly as possible to preserve relevant evidence.
Contact one of our skilled auto crash attorneys, who are more familiar with the ins and outs of car accident liability lawsuits and investigations.
Studstill Firm LLP attorneys have handled many cases involving car accidents, so we can help perform a full investigation to ensure those responsible for your accident are held accountable.
We have 2 offices in South Georgia available to serve you, and we are also able to meet with individuals and their families at home or in the hospital. If you need trusted lawyers who will tenaciously advocate on your behalf, don’t hesitate to call us.
Our team believes victims of personal injury are owed not only for their medical bills and potential lost wages but also they deserve justice. Let us get you the compensation you deserve. We have recovered millions for injured clients and will go above and beyond in your case.
Contact us by calling (229) 515-8900 for a free, no-obligation consultation. We look forward to helping you through this difficult time.
“Best experience”- Kristen
“Represented my case very effectively - with respect, professionalism, and assertiveness.”- Dana
“I was well taken care of.”- Adam
Contact us for a
(Your email will go directly to our attorneys)
We Will Make The Difference
Millions Recovered For Our Clients
Client-Focused & Results Driven
Committed & Passionate Advocacy
Personalized Attention & Carefully Curated Legal Plans